A quick overview of the traditional yogic paths:

  • Raja
    The “royal” or “Kingly” path. Balance and control of the mind through ethical practices, concentration and meditation, includes all of the other paths within it.
  • Hatha
    Focuses on the physical aspects through asanas (postures), pranayama (breath control), meditation, and deep relaxation.
  • Bhakti
    The path of devotion. Love, thought, and service of the Divine. Bhakti Yoga can be practiced by everyone, all that is needed is faith and constant remembrance of God.
  • Karma
    The path of action and selfless service. Serving without attachment to the fruits (or results) of the action. Mother Theresa is an example of a karma yogi.
  • Jnana
    The intellectual approach, the path of wisdom. Through the study of what really exists you may realize oneness with the entire Universe.
  • Japa or Mantra
    The practice of chanting a mantra – a sound structure of one or more syllables which represents a particular aspect of the Divine Vibration.